Hudson School District fourth grade classes participated in the annual bookmark design contest sponsored by the Friends of the Hudson Public Library during the 2018-19 school year. The students were asked to design a bookmark about the library, books or reading. This is the eighth year that the design contest has been held.

This year's winners are Salome Giebel of St. Patrick School; Zoey Gulick of E.P. Rock Elementary; Solvej Holter of Houlton Elementary; Abigail Holmes of North Hudson Elementary; Vanessa Pedersen of Hudson Prairie Elementary; Bennett Lundberg of River Crest Elementary; Lucy Parrott of Trinity Academy; and M'lain Soley of Willow River Elementary.

The contest winners and their parents, grandparents, siblings, other relatives and art instructors were invited to attend an awards presentation May 11 at the library. Designers of the winning bookmarks were each awarded a certificate of achievement, as well as prizes donated by Dairy Queen, Culver's Restaurant, and a library book bag filled with gifts from the Friends of the Library.

Art instructors at the participating schools are Jodi Youngman at Willow River Elementary and Houlton Elementary, Lisa Dumont at St. Patrick School; Megan Gaworecki at North Hudson Elementary and River Crest Elementary; Cynthia Burak-Gresmer at E.P. Rock Elementary and Houlton Elementary; and Kate Khall at Trinity Academy.

Bookmark designs were judged by artist Jeanette Richards, librarian Nicole Gelina, and Hudson Prairie Elementary teacher Julie Zamzow.

The eight winning bookmarks have been printed and are available at the Library's circulation desk for library patrons to pick up and use.