The Miss Minnesota scholarship competition took place June 19-22 at the Eden Prairie Performing Arts Center. The competition committee welcomed 24 candidates from around the state. Alaina Mattimiro, Miss Hastings 2019, was the first to represent Hastings at the state competition in 34 years.

On June 19, Mattimiro answered an onstage question from the judge panel, which is a continuation of her private 10-minute interview. She also presented her Social Impact Statement in evening wear that expressed her personality - a women's tuxedo with bright yellow heels. Her talent performance, a contemporary dance to "Big White Room" by Jessie J, left a strong impression at the preliminary.

Mattimiro was named a top-10 semifinalist, earning her a $350 cash scholarship. The winner of the competition was Kathryn Kueppers of Mendota Heights, who represented Coon Rapids. Kueppers was awarded a $10,000 scholarship. In addition, Kueppers will represent Minnesota in the 2020 Miss America competition during her year of service.

Mattimiro's packed schedule will continue through competition night for her successor at 7 p.m. Wednesday, July 17 at Crossroads Church. That's when she and Mike Bremer will emcee the 2019 Miss Hastings Scholarship Competition to crown Miss Hastings 2020. Candidates this year are Rachel Eron, Jasmin Kotek and Sophie Keeler.

Tickets are $10 at the door or may be purchased at the customer service counter at Coborn's and Cub Foods. For more information, visit