Enough candidates are hoping to fill open seats in local government that they’ve triggered primary contests and brought challengers to many races, though some will still run unopposed.

Candidate filing closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday for positions that could have a primary, which is set for Aug. 12.

Candidates for other races, such as the Red Wing School Board, can file between July 29 and Aug. 12. There are three at-large Red Wing School Board positions up for election this fall.

Election Day is Nov. 4 and, on top of local spots, ballots also will include candidates for governor and lieutenant governor and other state positions, U.S. Senator and representative, judicial seats and more.

The following candidates have filed for local seats, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.

Red Wing Among the four Red Wing City Council seats, three will see contests.

Kenneth L. Bush, Erik C. Fridell, Kalista Kaufmann-Willi and Dustin J. Schulenberg all filed for the at-large seat. Current Council member Marilyn Meinke previously said she would not seek re-election to the spot.

Ward 4 also has four candidates filed - Daniel Johnson, Kent Laugen, incumbent Peggy Rehder and Ernest W. Stone.

Dan Munson and Rick Voges are vying for the Ward 3 spot. Council member Mike Schultz, currently representing Ward 3, said he would not run again.

No challengers have filed to run against current Council member Dean Hove for the combined Wards 1 and 2 seat.

Goodhue County The race for two Goodhue County commissioner seats produced a number of candidates as well.

Five people filed for the District 2 seat: Brad Anderson, Nora Bryson Felton, Edward McNamara, Sarah J. Pettit and Sandy Wollschlager.

Richardson Samuelson is not seeking re-election.

Incumbent Jim Bryant filed for the District 4 seat, as did Keith Fossen, Jason R. Majerus and Andru Peters.

Current Goodhue County Sheriff Scott McNurlin and Attorney Steve Betcher have no challengers.

Three Goodhue County Soil and Water supervisor positions also are open. Mark Comstock and Bernie Overby filed for the District 1 spot, Lawrence Thomforde for District 2 and Jeff Beckman for the special election for District 3.

Paul Voxland is stepping down.

State representative Republican incumbent Tim Kelly of Red Wing will once again seek the state representative seat for District 21A, facing DFL challenger Lynn Schoen of Wabasha.

Mazeppa incumbent Steve Drazkowski, a Republican, will face Plainview, Minnesota resident and DFL candidate M.A. Schneider for the District 21B seat.

All candidates who wish to withdraw must do so by June 5.

Newsletter signup for email alerts