Tears were shed and applause was granted as Prescott School District teachers and staff were honored for their many years of employment and retirement.

Twelve teachers were recognized for decades of service to the district which included:

Paula Kenow and Aaron Marshall for 10 years; Corey Morning, Mike Kosmalski, Mike Hoikka and Marcy Westphal for 15 years; Tina Stenroos, Patty Orf, Helen Raebel and Jeff Poliak for 20 years; Donalee Meyer for 25 years and Jeff Ryan for 30 years.

Long-time employees were awarded with gifts such as a water bottle, blanket, cooler or a chair.

Retirees Deb Huppert, Rod Radle and Connie Grabow were presented with kind words and a plaque commemorating their years with the district.

Superintendent Dr. Rick Spicuzza said the district historically schedules a night during the week to recognize their special employees, but this year with many snow days and the resulting sports schedule, the district chose an afternoon to schedule a lunch. Supporters from the community and fellow staff members joined the celebration.