Just under half of the 16-member Citizen-Business Working Group regarding the 3M settlement funds will be coming from South Washington County.

The six local members are: Jack Lavold and Dave Schulenberg from Cottage Grove, David Filipiak and Michael Madigan from Woodbury, Amy Schall from St. Paul Park and Barbara Ronningen from Afton.

Jack Lavold is currently serving out the rest of former commissioner Karla Bigham's term on the Washington County Board of Commissioners, but will not be continuing after the seat is filled by election later this year.

The state of Minnesota and 3M Corp. agreed to an $850 million settlement in February regarding the dumping of perfluorochemicals, or PFCs, in the East Metro. Two working groups are being formed to discuss how to use the $720 million remaining after legal fees.

The Citizen-Business Working Group will recommend projects and priorities, as well as review work from the more technical subgroups.

Additional members are: Julie Bunn, Bob Fossum and Jeff Holz from Lake Elmo; Bruce Johnson and Monica Stiglich from Oakdale; Charlotte Flint and Steve Johnson from West Lakeland; Mark Jenkins and Katie Johnson-Goodstar from Maplewood; and Betsy Daub from St. Paul. There will also be a representative appointed from a local chamber of commerce.

The MPCA said in a news release, the following criteria were used to choose the members:

Diversity in East Metro locations, people on municipal water and on private wells, age and race. Other factors were personal or professional skills, desire to become a member and experience with public engagement.

The first meeting will be held 1 to 4 p.m. July 13 at the Washington County Service Center in Cottage Grove, 13000 Ravine Parkway. The Government and 3M Working Group will be held prior to it, from 9 a.m. to noon.

The public is welcome to attend the meetings.