Madison-University of Wisconsin-La Crosse senior Sadie Kroll of Hudson has been named a co-recipient of the 2018 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Judy Kruckman Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete Award. Kroll shares the award with UW-Platteville's Johanna Meister.

Kroll is the eighth student-athlete in UWL history to be honored as the WIAC Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete, including the third straight. Elizabeth Frick earned the award in 2016 and Kaitlyn McDaniel in 2017.

Kroll maintains a 3.61 grade point average and is majoring in biology with a minor in chemistry. She was named to the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Team in 2017. Kroll is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and been recognized on UWL's Dean List numerous semesters.

Kroll finished third for the second straight season at this year's WIAC championship after placing second in 2016. A team captain in 2017, she collected All-America recognition by finishing 33rd at the NCAA Division III championship. Kroll is a two-time NCAA Division III All-Midwest Region performer and was selected her team's Most Outstanding Teammate in 2017.

Kroll is the vice president of UWL's Pre-Dental Club after being a member of the club for three years. She has volunteered with Dentistry from the Heart Day, UWL Adult Physical Fitness and Salvation Army. Kroll has traveled to Nicaragua on a two-week dental mission trip and works at YMCA Wellness Centers.

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from Oct. 1984 - Sept. 1996. Kruckman was the women's athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WWIAC when it formed in 1971.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, she must be in her last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.