Fourth-ranked Hamline scored three times on the power play and another shorthanded to defeat No. 7 UW-River Falls in a NCAA Division III women's hockey quarterfinal at TRIA Rink in St. Paul Saturday, March 9.

The outcome sends Hamline to the NCAA semifinals against top-ranked St. Thomas while UWRF, the regular season WIAC champion, ends its season with a record of 23-6.

Hamline took a 1-0 lead with an even strength goal late in the first period before scoring shorthanded and on a power play goal to widen the gap to 3-0 before UWRF scored its lone goal off the stick of Bella Wagner with 14 seconds remaining in the second period. Erica Schramel and Hailey Herdine picked up assists.

That's as close as the Falcons could get however as the Pipers tacked on two more power play goals in the third period to make the final 5-1.

UWRF goalie Sami Miller made 30 saves as the Pipers outshot the Falcons 35-26.

Nielsen named WIAC Scholar-Athlete

Falcon senior Haley Nielsen of Orono, Minn., has been named the recipient of the 2019 WIAC Judy Kruckman Women's Hockey Scholar-Athlete Award.

Nielsen sustains a 3.87 grade point average and is majoring in physics and mathematics. She earned a spot on the 2017-18 American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Krampade NCAA Division II-III All-America Scholar Team. She is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and been recognized on UWRF's Dean's List numerous semesters.

A two-year team captain, she is a three-time All-WIAC first team selection and helped UWRF claim the conference regular-season title all four seasons, as well as a pair of O'Brien Cups. Nielsen was selected to the AHCA All-America First Team a season ago and was a member of the Falcon's national runner-up team in 2016.

Nielsen is a member of the Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Pi Sigma National Honor Societies and has volunteered with Trick-or-Treat for Canned Goods, River Falls Trash Pick-Up and youth hockey practices.

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman, who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from October, 1984 - September, 1996. Kruckman was the women's athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WWIAC when it formed in 1971. She was inducted into the WIAC Hall of Fame in 2012.