The Hastings Area Swim Team started February off with the WEST Express Last Chance meet Feb. 9-10 at the Pioneer Ridge middle school pool in Chanhassen. This presented the swimmers with a wonderful opportunity to achieve qualifying times for the upcoming championship series of meets. Thirty-four HAST swimmers competed at the meet and achieved new times in the TR-3, CH-3, A-4, BB-15, B-4 and C-1 divisions. The swimmer of the meet was Isabel Green, who added three tough new events to her expertise and earned new qualifying times in each swim.

On Feb. 15, HAST attended the Winter SAC Finals meet in Farmington where 12 swimmers combined to achieve new times in the B-7 and C-5 divisions. The swimmer of the meet was Ava Radel. She swam three-out-of-three best times, cutting over 11 seconds in those events and earned new C and B times in the 100-yard butterfly, 100 breaststroke and 100 individual medley. The Northfield Swim Club hosted the NOR MAC Championships Feb. 23-24, where 25 HAST swimmers and their families braved the snow to achieve new times in three divisions.

The swimmer of the meet was Adam Duer. Duer rose to the challenge to swim extra events on

one day due to the cancellation of the second day of competition. He cut time in all of his events and earned new times in the 100 individual medley and the 100 and 200 backstrokes.earning a

The Minnesota Regional Championships were held March 1-3 at the Rochester Recreation Center. Fifty-nine HAST swimmers competed and achieved new times in the Z-1, CHAMP-28, A-24 and BB-25 divisions. The swimmers of the meet were Jocelyn Brink and Ava McNamara. Brink swam nine-out-of-nine best times while McNamara swam eight-out-of-eight best times, cutting over 22 seconds total.

The HAST swimmers also set several new club records. Lauren Jenkins set records in the 11-12 girls division in the 1,000-yard freestyle and 1,650 freestyle. Emma Dehmlow set a new record for the 8-and-under girls 50 butterfly.

Kira Aarness set a new ZONE time and setting new CHAMP times were her, Emelia Berg, Emma Dehmlow, Sydney Fleming, Thomas Foss, Kendal Jenkins, Lauren Jenkins, Natalie Knutson, Sofia Kovalenko, Ava McNamara, Dylan Purington, Brandon Schwartz and Devin Schwartz.

Achieving new A times were Kira Aarness, Jocelyn Brink, Berlyn Byrd, Joe Everson, Sydney Fleming, Charlie Jensen, Kendra Kosmoski, Josephine Larson, Mitchell LeMay, Ava McNamara, Natalie Ptacek, Kiya Riley, Brandon Schwartz, Cody Stewart, Avery Stoffel and Caleb Urban.

Setting new BB times were Kira Aarness, Clara Birken, Ella Bloomquist, Andi Carlson, Emma Dehmlow, Adam Duer, Emma Ellsworth, Oliver Gergen, Isabel Green, Jenna Gutterman, Elianna Herrera-Carlson, Charlie Jensen, Kendra Kosmoski, Afton LeMay, Mitchell LeMay, Nathan LeMay, Eloise Prettyman, Natalie Ptacek, Annika Ries, Isabella Schneider, Brandon Schwartz and Cody Stewart.

New B times were set by Jacob Barker, Micah Benner, Ella Bloomquist, Joshua Bloomquist, Jeremy Cory, Adam Duer, Annabella Ellsworth, Emma Ellsworth, Isabel Green, Samuel Green, Jenna Gutterman, Jackson Harre, Lily Meier, Eloise Prettyman, Ava Radel, Isaac Schalk and Mary Schalk.

Earning new C times were Jacob Barker, Joshua Bloomquist, Carter Herbst, Isabella Larson, Amelia Miller, Lily Meier, Eloise Prettyman, Ava Radel, Alexis Schulist and Cody Stewart.