The Hastings Area Swim Team (HAST) showed strength throughout the summer. With three outdoor swim meets they faced weather adversity and came out on top with many new time achievements. It was smooth sailing for the team at the indoor meets.

Nineteen HAST swimmers competed at the PRHN June Conference C/pre-C meet on June 13 at the Richfield Middle School pool, where they teamed up to achieve new times in B-5 and C-7 divisions. The swimmer of the meet was Alliah Clark, who swam three-out-of-three best times in the 50-meter freestyle, 50 butterfly and 100 individual medley, earning three new C times in those events.

From June 14-16, 31 HAST swimmers competed at the STORM Summer Invitational at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center on the campus of the University of Minnesota where they achieved new times in the TR – 1, Zone- 1, CH-4, A-6, BB-13 and B-1 divisions. The swimmer of the meet was Kendra Kosmoski. Kosmoski swam seven-out-of-seven best times, cutting just over 30 seconds overall in her events. She swam new CHAMP times in the 50 freestyle and 200 backstroke.

The team traveled to Eau Claire, Wis., for the Fairfax Outdoor Swim meet June 29-30, where 57 HAST swimmers competed and teamed up to earn new times in the TR – 1, CH-3, A-1, BB-7, B-16 and C-11 divisions. Gabri Clark was the swimmer of the meet and is newer to the sport. She earned three new C Times in what was her first outdoor swim meet.

Finally, from July 11-14 HAST swam at the Blast Summer Sizzler in Cedar Falls, Ia., where they set new times in CHAMP-4, A-11, BB-11, B-4 and C-1. The swimmer of the meet was Emelia Berg, who swam an astonishing nine-out-of-nine best times. Berg swam her way to four new BB times and one new A time

Sofia Kovalenko set a new HAST record for those 10 and under in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1 minute, 20.20 seconds. Thomas foss set a new Zone time in the 50 backstroke. Establishing new CHAMP times were Foss, Oliver Gergen, Charlie Jensen, Philip Jensen, Kosmoski, Kovalenko, Mitchell LeMay, Nathan LeMay, Dylan Purrington, Ashtyn Stewart and Caleb Urban.

New A times were set by Berg, Gergen, Isabel Green, Oscar Green, Tyson Kalinowki, Kosmoski, Afton LeMay, Josephine Larson, Mitchell LeMay, Nathan LeMay, Brandon Schwartz, Devin Schwartz and Ireland Zaruba.

Setting new BB times were Ethan Anderson, Berg, Megan Bump, Clark. Jeremy Cory, Emma Dehmlow, Gergen, Oscar Green, Mari Hall, Elianna Herrera-Carlson, Charlie Jensen, Afton LeMay, Annika Ries, Lila Salzman, Mary Schalk, Isabella Schneider and Brandon Schwartz.

New B Times came from Bump, Ella Carlson, Clark, Mason Darling, Adam Duer, Annabelle Ellsworth, Daniel Foss, Oscar Green, Tristan Herbst, George Jensen, Isaac Schalk and Mary Schalk.

Finally, New C times were set by Benjamin Barker, Ella Carlson, Alliah Clark, Gabri Clark, Lucas Foss, Oscar Green, George Jensen, Lilly Meier, Leah Miller, Chloe Robinson and Russell Schalk.